Troupers

The roles people play,

I play one too,

Many roles, in fact,

Not all portrayed,

Masks are donned for some,

How else to answer

Peace at any price,

All done and said?

Truth emerges,

Questions asked and answered,

Not all liked by all,

We are afraid,

Unanswered some,

Unquestioned yet, though pending,

Live with truth or

Die with fears instead.

Oh, the roles that we all play

Stretch out before us,

Past to present,

Now to future, splayed

As diagram and map,

Roads merge and fork still,

Winding on, unravelled,

Paused, waylaid.

The roles people play,

We see right through them,

Dislike the truth

And fear what must be said,

Masks removed, hand on heart, with courage,

Enacted life,

All roles, with fearless action, played.

Separated roles,

Each formed in passage,

Each demanding search,

A price be paid,

Purse in hand, tolls to meet on journey,

Troupers, enrolled in life,

Sets moved, stage laid.

10 thoughts on “Troupers”

      1. As a teacher I am sure you know and in my role I have to wear two hats and have more than one blog. By the way, my son who has been teaching high school for 14 years finally got a position in the old primary school where he went very close to home. It is a learning curve but at his age, he needed a challenge and how can you not be pleased getting 2 acorns from a Kindergarten girl. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. In the interests of confidentiality, two hats must be the answer. How else would your truths be free to express? It’s the suppression of truths and the difficulties faced in expression that vex me and make me ponder.
        I’m delighted for your son. I also have returned, for this year, to my old primary. A strange feeling to know that I am teaching where I was taught, where my father was taught. Not actually the same building as a brand new one is almost complete and we are in decant at the moment. I’m loving it, the kids are a treat and little tokens of affection given from a loving place are the icing on the cake. I wish him well in his new post. His fridge will be covered in childish pictures and a collection of mementos for each of his years there. It must be a huge learning curve right enough going from secondary to kindergarten. 🙂

        Like

      3. You know he shared that in Grade one classroom, he could not help but be reminded of his teacher then…he talks fondly of several teachers who believed in him…I think it’s a timely change…he is mature enough to appreciate it.:) Wishing you a great year as well. Our first long weekend is coming up, our Canadian Thanksgiving Oct 13th.

        Like

      4. Some changes are, as you say, timely and welcomed. I’m sure he will fit right in and make his mark. Any son of yours must surely do so. We had a long weekend last weekend and a week’s holiday beginning this weekend. It’s mid-term for us as we returned to school in August. Judging by the wind and rain outside my window, autumn/winter (almost inseparable) has arrived. Enjoy your well-earned break when it comes. 🙂 x

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I wonder if one had courage enough to drop a mask, would others follow? It’s true wear masks from fear, yet so many of those fears are unfounded. If we could live from love and not from fear, how many masks would be shed, or would simply melt from love’s warm embrace?

    Like

Comments are closed.