Now Chill

Take a wallflower

Take a disco

Take a strobe light

Take a dress

Take a clubhouse

Or a pubhouse

Fling some jeans on

Look a mess

Take a small gig at the local

Take a concert in a hall

Take some earphones in your bedroom

Take some time out one and all

Add a bass line, add a tempo

Add a whatever-you-will

Add a wine glass or a beer stein

It’s Friday….now chill!

Try a foot tap, try a headbang

Try a what-is-this-song???!!!

Try a yes-man-I-love-this!

Try a-singing-along

Feel the rhythm, feel the gut-feel!

Feel the hey-I’m-alright!

Feel the music, feel the lyrics!

Now, with me, outtasight!!!

Be the weekend, be the wine glass

Be the type-till-you’re-done

Be the writer, be the wordsmith

Be the singer, be the song

Can you guess it, can you feel it

Can you know that right here

It’s been a long week, such a long week

But now I’m filled with good cheer.

Happy weekend punters!

I do wish I’d stop singing, ‘sparing his life for his mom’s sausages’ at that bit, but it’s been stuck there for about forty years. And it fits. 😉

 

11 thoughts on “Now Chill”

    1. Worth watching, Beth. It’s been a while since I’ve seen it myself but Queen is one of my go-to favourite groups for chilling and this scene is just so happy! Did you see their faces? 🙂 Any rapping or hip-hopping was purely unintentional. I’m not that hip. 😉

      Like

    1. I’m sorry, Paul. That’s down to me. I’ve been keeping my head down on Nano but kept coming up with poems that I couldn’t resist posting. Sometimes the poems kind of encapsulate what I’m trying to write so I post them. But I know if I get involved in comments I’ll be off the job, if you know what I mean. I’m up to date on my word count so I’m kind of writing and having a chill night tonight. Red biddy, some music – even got an incense stick going! – and ‘I’m feeeeeeeling good!’ Glad I had you moving. Swing it! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Great but scary, isn’t it? I can see myself listening to that song for the first time and wondering whether the dj had joined a few together! Have a great weekend, Susan. 🙂 x

      Like

  1. Ah- Mike Myers. One of our great Canadian gifts to the world. Love that scene.

    You’re a bad influence, A-M. Trying to force myself through the last two hours of the workday, but now you’ve got me itching to find me a beer stein immediately. I suppose I could always say that it’s past 5pm in Scotland…

    Happy weekend- and congrats on the great progress with the NaNo! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I swear, Cole, I think most of what I’m writing is kack! It’s like an overflow from a sewer getting it down. One thing I’ll say in its favour is it’s making me look again at the first book and revise the plot based on the second. The damn thing is I know the third – more or less – and I have a feeling I’ll have to write the third before I finish editing the first! No wonder I drink!
    Take a sicky! Get that stein!
    Naw, who am I kidding? Finish the shift. Then the leisure is a real pleasure. Have a great one! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.