Check. Check. (Double-check)

I’ve epiladied (is so a verb) all the relevant portions of me that will be on display. And attended to a few that won’t. (Should’ve been a hairdresser.)

Important items have been laid out. (Fags, wine, Kindle, more fags, extra wine – in case. She’s bringing the whiskey and Pepsi Max.)

I’ve still to pack a bag. (And lubricate my voicebox). It will be a marathon. (A marathon and a half, more like.)

Forty-four hours (give or take) in the company of my best friend.

There will be swimming, there will be pummelling, there will be saunaing (is that a verb?) There will be lounging about at poolside and reading (maybe). There will be cuisine. (And I won’t be in it.) There will be drinking of various beverages. (*note* take extra coffee).

There will be laughing and there will be tears too, no doubt. (Ever laughed till the tears ran down your legs? Yeah, that.)

Mostly, there will be talking. Lots and lots of talking. I’ve known this lass since I was seventeen.

Met her at a bus station on the way to college. Knew I liked her before I’d even spoken to her. If she or I had been a guy we’d probably have married. Twelve sprogs we’d have between us now. (Still have, come to think of it.) 

She’s run after her crew for Christmas (and I’ve done a fair bit too.)

Apparently, in some parts of Ireland, women get the sixth of January off for all their Chrissy efforts. I’ve been working.

But not this weekend, I’m not.

One more workaday. Then Bingo! Full house! Jackpot! (Or whatever you say when you know you’ve struck it lucky.)

Snow’s forecast here, they say.  It would be just terrible if we were snowed in (after we got there). (Double-check forecast.)

27 thoughts on “Check. Check. (Double-check)”

    1. Thanks, Cole. 🙂 I feel I have a cheek since I’ve only been back at work since Tuesday. But I’m gubbed already. The Christmas period never really feels like a true holiday. I’ll probably end up sleeping most of it. (Nah!) 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Oooh party time. Can’t wait for the post….or maybe not, might be a bit wild for my calm nature 😀
    Regardless momus, let it all hang out, it has been a big Christmas, New Year. Have a great time with your friend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds so good…. I can’t remember my last escape. Well just- went to Edinburgh in June last but it was work for 7 days straight and then back to Oz I guess I got to rest on the plane (sigh)
    Have a great time for me 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I haven’t been to Edinburgh in ages. Ridiculous when my local train goes direct. Must try and organise a getaway for there. 🙂 I can imagine work-related breaks aren’t much of a rest. It’s a shame to have come so far and be kept working the whole time. Employers would get so much more if they threw in a week’s free holiday with that. I’ll have a great time for everyone. Thanks so much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.