Formaldehyde

fixed me with formaldehyde

embalmed me

incremental death by poison

slow

skewered brain, removed my heart

entrapped me

in jars and boxes, buried me

down low

fixed me with formaldehyde

till sterile

an empty vessel dressed

in finest wood

placed canopics

where I couldn’t find them

and bled me dry to live

in zombiehood

unearthed

void of form and feeling

peeling

losing bits along the way

morselled as a minion to the mighty

undertakers raped my soul each day

dismembered me and muted

with their needles

threaded lips till tongue-tied

did their best

weighed me

watched me

found me

waxen, wanting

dismissed me then

and put my corpse to rest

but

I rose again

and gathered all the boxes

found the jars

replaced my bits inside

unstitched my lips

and shouted

from the heavens

not fucking dead yet

mouth is open wide

formaldehyde yourself

embalm your essence

fix your flag to fortune if you must

I’ll tear your towers down

like lego pieces

rebuild it with a world

that’s fixed by just

fragments of the pieces of the portions

of the bits you tore away

and tried to hide

I’m watching you, you foxes

while you scavenge

my corpse is here to be

your nightmare bride

5 thoughts on “Formaldehyde”

  1. Hi Anne Marie, in a few days I think a Sunshine Blogger’s Award post will have you on a nominations list. You don’t have to post about it just hoping you may check out some different and newer friends of mine. Maybe they will stop by here, too. Smiles, Robin

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.