Positively P****d Off

Be positive, they said

For life demands it

The polar opposite

Will crush your soul

Diminish hope

And drain your life of meaning

Well, who was I to disbelieve that goal

 

So positive, I said

Shall be my watchword

I’ll guard against the negative, resist

Persist in seeing what is good in others

Then look again

In case I somehow missed

 

The hearts that don’t know love

For life is woeful

The lonely who are begging for a friend

The shy ones and the brash

The dour and doleful

Positive would be my aim and end

 

But now, I’m positive

The world is full of arseholes

I’m positive they’re breeding as we speak

Passing on genetic disposition

To talk from anal crevices

That seek

 

To undermine the hope

And good that’s out there

To fight for fighting’s sake for that’s their thing

To ridicule what’s different

Like they’re perfect

I’m positive they’re called the alt-right wing

 

They’re negative with minus in their favour

I’m positive they’ve lost the plot

What’s more

I’m positive that, unless we kick their arses

They’ll be running round

And knocking on our doors

 

Demanding

That we all believe in one thing

That liberty and freedom are passé

Spreading hate

And whipping up a frenzy

I’m positive I don’t want to live that way

 

Be positive, they said

For life demands it

Potential opens up and life has cause

I listened then

I still believe it

And I’m positive they need a good kick in the baws

7 thoughts on “Positively P****d Off”

    1. Nah, no one could survive on hate. They’d kill each other in a fortnight left to their own devices. I reckon there’s a real force of them out there and they’ve grown in bravado this while back, egging others on to the worst aspects of themselves (that might exist in all of us to some extent). I see it in kids at school. Encourage them with positive behaviour, they do respond positively. Show them no respect, they won’t show any to you or anyone else. It’s kind of being forgotten at the moment what with all that’s going on. I’m kind of hoping that as soon as those hating most fall victim to what they’re giving out, they’ll remember what a difference love can make. Love always survives.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I always love it when I have a chance to read a post or two and feel your passion…always such passion! Your students are so lucky to have you as a teacher. I had a primary school teacher for two years that saw more in me than I did and he was so passionate about all that he taught.

    Like

Comments are closed.