Which Pill?

It is with deep regret

And no small measure of embarrassment

That I stand before you, here, today

I’d really rather be all on my own

But the niceties, we know, must be obeyed

And so, with pressure, here, I must atone

 

It is with deep regret

And no small measure of rage

That I come before the people of this land

I’d really rather eat my own two shoes

But, the niceties, and colleagues’ daggers at my back

Have told me that I have to or they lose

 

So, it is with deep regret

And no small measure of humiliated self-defeat

That I work up something of a spit

I’d really rather gob right in your face

But, the niceties, and the plebs I swore to serve

Have hounded me and I have lost the race

 

It is with deep regret

And no small measure of choking pride

That I curse the day you found me out

I’d really rather you’d stayed in the dark

But the niceties, and a press that changed their tune

Have forced me to admit I’m not the brightest spark

 

So, it is with deep regret

And no small measure of unwillingness

I leave behind the steps of Downing Street

I’d really rather keep the role I played

But the niceties, and loyalty, are not what they once were

They’re calling me a pill, the hapless, hard-to-swallow Theresa May

 

It is with deep regret

And no small measure of wanton disregard

I’ve divided, more, the countries of this land

I’d really rather, that, you all forgot

But the niceties, for it is not self-awareness

Are insisting that I say that I’ve been caught

 

It is without regret

And no small measure of utter stupidity

That I’m holding on to power

I’d really rather you all just agreed

For the niceties, and careerists, can go hang

I retract, with no regrets, every word that I’ve just said

 

It is with deep regret

And no small measure of frustration

That we, the people, all must live the pill

We’d really like to dose it out to them

For the niceties and those who splurt the lies

Are culpable, and worse, they know no shame

(source)

4 thoughts on “Which Pill?”

  1. Have we all just become too used to lies that now they don’t evoke the passionate response that they used to? Or is it that the ‘powers’ are so tight-nit that, despite their willingness to stab one another mercilessly in the back, they will cling to each other against common sense and indeed the common person? It seems to me that it doesn’t matter what happens the Money will plow ahead nursing its own needs.
    One day, Anne-Marie, one day…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly think that those spouting the biggest lies no more believe them than many of us do but, that they’ve gotten away with it for so long, with the help of a complicit media, that they keep right on at it. Why would they want to change a system that works for them? Between lobbyists and the power of money, in strategic places, they keep themselves in a job and they think they have a right to rule. Always been the same. They’re possibly just more arrogant or desperate now.
      The internet and the opportunity to be better informed than what gets pushed at us from mainstream media has definitely had a big part to play in that. Comparisons across the world made readily available.

      “The changes signal a wider cultural change in government based on an assumption that information should be in the public domain unless there is a good reason not to—not the other way around. Greater openness, accountability and transparency in Government will give people greater choice and make it easier for individuals to get more directly involved in issues that matter to them. Threats to the Internet, such as companies or governments that interfere with or snoop on Internet traffic, compromise basic human network rights.” Tim Berners-Lee

      Panic stations that the gravy train will come to a dead stop! Fake news! Different from their fake news, they mean. Sure, there are lies everywhere. We just got better at detecting them when so many contradictions were self-evident. Have to put a stop to that!
      I don’t know whether to laugh or cry that she’s so evidently being hung out to dry. But, if you play with the big boys, you’re going to take a kicking now and then. And she’s in for one any day soon.
      That the media have even turned on her is significant too. Talking about getting your pieces in place for the coup and making it seem like populist revolt. Boris to the rescue? Or some other Etonian with the right credentials? When the queen has to be rolled out to keep the peace you know changes are afoot.
      The other option, of course, is that they ‘let’ Corbyn carry the can for the omnishambles about to occur. Depends on the level of their pride, I suppose.
      Revolution, anyone?

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.