Oops, my straitjacket is slipping…

Guest post by Pam at http://butterflysand.com/

When you look up at the stars at night do you feel homesick? Okay, okay, bad joke. Do you know once upon a time I laughed uproariously at that joke. I ran around and told all my preteen friends. Yes, it’s that old. And so am I.

As we age our funny bone seems to migrate. For some people it ends up around the gluteus maximus. For others humour becomes more cerebral. I don’t know the equation to what’s funny. I don’t even know what makes me laugh until I am actually laughing. When was the last time you laughed so hard there were tears running down your face? Do you remember the knee slapping, rib tickling, gut wrenching guffaws you used to hear when a group of people got together to watch a comedy film? I don’t, at least not recently. The last time I had one of those all-encompassing, falling on the floor cackles was watching an old movie.

The movie was ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’. I don’t remember the movie. I don’t even know if it was actually a comedy. What I do remember is my boyfriend and I beating on the furniture. We were laughing so hard we were crying. I remember him falling on the floor and not able to catch his breath. But I don’t remember the movie. I remember that there was a series but it appeared to be about teenage angst (and vampire slaying) I wasn’t interested. I had enough of that when I was a teenager! (The angst not the slaying!) Don’t get me wrong I enjoy comedy. I’ve been known to crack a smile and even show teeth. I just haven’t had a really good belly laugh in a very long time.

Laughter is a universal language. It crosses borders and brings people together. It can also alienate people and cause others to commit various forms of harm. Of course that in itself can be funny! But I digress. I don’t know of any culture that doesn’t have some form of laughter. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could laugh more and shoot less? We spend so much of our time behaving according to the dictates of society that when we let loose it can be epic! Find the time to laugh. A really good guffaw exercises the whole body!

 

Published by

quiall

I am a woman with a mission: to live life to the fullest. I will not let an itty, bitty incurable disease stop me. It may slow me down but like a ship dragging an anchor, I'll get there eventually. Walk with me at www.butterflysand.com

10 thoughts on “Oops, my straitjacket is slipping…”

  1. You’ve intrigued me now. I haven’t watched anything on that level for …well, ages.
    Do they actually make comedies any more? And to make it worse, everyone’s funnybone’s are made differently. Might have to go back to the Dr’s, maybe I’ve dislocated mine 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The BUFFY TVS movie wasn’t that funny. Starred Kristy Swanson and Luke Perry. I only saw the movie years after I learned about it, I think. Which was good because I honestly didn’t like the movie that much and while it had its moments, it wasn’t that funny. I said good because I saw the TV show first, which I loved, starring Sarah Michelle Gellar. It was supposed to be a followup on the character from the movie because she got kicked out of school for burning down the gym (full of vampires!). Girl power and vampire slaying — COOL!!!! The TV show was funnier than the movie and more interesting. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My only memory of that movie was my reaction. It may well have been so bad it was funny! I don’t think I watched the series at all. Ah well as long as we can still laugh at something!

    Like

  4. I don’t recall this movie but I do remember your contagious laugh!! Belly aching laughter is good for the soul alright and the body actually but we needn’t get into that here. Great post, Pam!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.