Life Choices

You have a choice to make, my son,

though choices may be stark,

to sleep the depths of virtual life

where no man makes his mark,

or wake each day to risen dawn

and shine, renewed by light

a choice, my son, though only one,

face the day or night.

You have a choice to make, my girl,

though choices may be few,

to languish lost in lethargy

where life is drained from you,

or risk the day, the challenges,

partake as one who dares

a choice, my girl, advising you,

live as one who cares.

You have a choice to make, my friend,

to urge the breath in you,

as death creeps slowly while you live,

one choice, or maybe two,

to be alive though life may dole

the hardships deigned to doom,

there’s light outside, my friend, your choice,

to give the rays more room.

I’ve had choices all the way,

many choices yet,

none undone, for chosen way

must live with all regret,

choices lived, forgotten,

while choices lost remain,

chances, choices never used,

to live or to abstain.

Traffic Jam

I keep missing comments and fond familiar voices,

Apologies to all concerned,

In time-restricted choices.

Another week of trafficking in all their dirty tricks

Should see me back to normal,

Far removed from politics,

At least on board to reading other stuff but guff,

Honest to god, now passed my chin,

Nearly had enough.

Some light romance, some music, a video or two,

Some photographs, a few more jokes,

Anything would do.

One more week, well, less in fact, then, bugger, I’ve reports,

Twenty-six, my darling kids,

Progress, tricks, endeavour for six-year old cohort.

Pretty soon, as time will tell, I’ll get to browse again,

Until then, apologies

For bypassing bloggy friends.

Telemachus Told Me

Telemachus told me, with travel weary woe,

While passing through, soul searching,

His hero long ago.

Telemachus told me of suitors in homestead,

How urgency had led him

For mother’s love and dread.

Telemachus told me Penelope knew fear

But plotted course and kept the faith,

Wished her lover near.

Telemachus told me, by light of nightly fire,

Of lessons learned on journey,

Of squatters, she with ire.

Telemachus told me of Calydonian Boar,

Of how the men believed no girl

Could vanquish cursed chore.

Telemachus told me of woman, godly blessed,

Atalantic powerhouse

Dedicated to her task.

Telemachus told me of father’s clever plot,

Of how he guided arrow through

So many with one shot.

Telemachus told me how Homeric tales from yore,

Battles, choice and consequence

Still visit every shore.

Telemachus told me, his name upon my lips,

In dreamland scapes of valued fleece,

Of heroes, heroines and ships.

Telemachus told me that myths are sometimes true

And legends made from bravest acts,

So now I’m telling you.