Angel Wings

 An angel is soaring so far up ahead,

I’m flying behind her although I’m not dead.

She’s showing the path that I have to walk,

I want to delay her so that we can talk.

But glimpses are all that she offers to me

Of a life yet to happen, a life still to be.

 

My wings are no match for the wings of an angel

I try and I fly but she’s gone from my sight.

I’ll sleep with the angels tonight in my dreaming

And if I can reach her I’ll question what’s right.

 

If all of my journeys in land where I live 

Are fruitful and worthwhile so that I may give

The best of myself to the people I love,

Pleasing to all and to God up above.

Then maybe the path that I’m treading upon

Will be easier to walk when it all feels too long.

 

My wings are no match for the wings of an angel

 I fly stronger now and I keep her in sight

I’ll soar with the angels in dreams I remember

Flying in spirit far into the night.

 

My wings are still strong and they carry me far

Tho’  she has the power I lack to catch her,

But in her smiles and her gestures I see what I need

That I’m doing my best to live and take heed

Of all that I’m offered in life – such a gift!

She carries me in a thermal air lift,

 

So when my wings are no match for the wings of an angel

I know she’ll be by me and keep me in sight.

I’ll soar with my angel in life and in dreaming,

Flying through all, to do what is right.

Fairy Wishes

A fairy in my dreams asked me

Had all my dreams come true.

I looked at her and thought a bit

Then said, as I here I do.

 

‘A lot of what I longed for

I have already here,

My family and love around,

A cup of greatest cheer.

 

The other dreams are in my hands,

I hold them carefully,

I treasure them and nourish them

And then I set them free.

 

If dreams they are to be fulfilled

I have to open hands,

Not so I may drop them

But so they can search the lands

 

That I may have to wander,

The plans I have to make,

The effort that I’ll put in place

So these dreams may not prove fake.’

 

She asked me then and offered

Three wishes I would crave,

I thought some more then smiled at her

And answer thus I gave.

 

‘Three would never satisfy

All I hold inside

And most of what I ask for self

Is really for my pride.

 

If three there are then let me ask

For what I already see,

The health of all my family,

That’s enough for me.

 

The second one I pass along

To others for the same,

Renewal in body, spirit, mind.

Then they can play this game

 

‘And what of number three?’ she said,

‘Now think on carefully.’

‘I would wish that others knew, believed,

They’re the change they have to be.’